I received this book from Net Galley in return for an honest review.cover69420-medium

Although this isn’t generally the sort of book I would read, the synopsis intrigued me enough to give it a go. Doc, a Wisconsin vet, has left, as part of his will, a mysterious codicil that his family must solve in order to inherit his fortune. This leads the reunited family to undertake a quest whereby they must speak to his friends, hack into his computer to find email evidence and read a book that Doc had been writing.

At times, this book was ‘laugh out loud’ funny and also poignant as the siblings work together to discover what was happening in Doc’s life before he died. However, I did find myself spending a lot of time skipping through sections of text as parts of the story seemed to serve little purpose. I could not warm to the character of ‘Doofus’ and admit that, even by the end of the book, I was a bit confused as to who he actually was.

The book is well-researched and clearly shows the author’s understanding of bovine matters!

