When a female is found dead in an Ilfraccombe cottage, DI Jan Talantire is perplexed. The woman has been identified as Ruth Lyle but this cannot be the case – Ruth Lyle died fifty years earlier, stabbbed by a crucifix, the exact same method as this new murder in exactly the same location. Deducing that it must be a copycat killing, Jan is even more confused when medical records match. How can a woman die twice, fifty years apart?

I was sad when Nick Louth’s previous series featuring DCI Craig Gillard finished so was pleased to see that he was writing a new one with a new detective, DI Jan Talantire. The Two Deaths of Ruth Lyle is very different to the Craig Gillard books but equally as gripping and Jan has the potential to be a superb lead character.

I really liked how because of the two murders, fifty years apart, we see how different investigation techniques were and how the development of forensics has helped to discover new evidence from older cases. I enjoyed trying to figure out how the same woman could have died twice especially as we did this at the same time as the detectives who were equally as flummoxed as myself!

The book deals with some very modern themes and this gave The Two Deaths of Ruth Lyle a very novel feel as it was a plot I have not come across in any other books I have read. I was gripped from beginning to end and am looking forward to the next book in the series – Nick Louth has another hit on his hands!

With thanks to Canelo and Net Galley for my copy.