Scoring the winning goal in an important football match should be a cause for celebration. Eleven-year-old Mikey Driscoll finds his celebrations and his life cut tragically short, however, when his body is found two days later. When the body of a second boy is discovered, Detective Lottie Parker has a personal reason for wanting this case closed as soon as possible – the boys are known to her son, Sean. Are the deaths linked to a disturbed young woman who proclaims she has killed ‘him’ and just what is the subject of the conspiracy of silence that seems to be in existence? This will be one of Lottie’s toughest and most emotional cases yet…

Tell Nobody is the fifth outing for D. I. Lottie Parker, in a series that is going from strength to strength. Still coming to terms with events in previous books, Lottie is, once again, struggling to balance home and work life, this time with the spectre of a long-lost relative lurking in the background. For this reason, although it is not essential, I would advise that you read the other books in the series before this one as it will aid in understanding several events that are referred to.

Ragmullin is fast becoming the crime capital of Ireland, and is definitely not a place I would like to live in! In Tell Nobody, we meet several shady characters, each one with secrets they do not want to rise to the surface. Which one, though, is implicated in the most heinous of crimes – the abuse and murder of young boys? The subject matter is, at times, distressing, as is any plot involving the abuse of children. What built up the tension in this book, however, was that we don’t just meet these boys after their death, but we get to find out a bit about their backstory beforehand. By using Lottie’s son and his friends, we get to develop a relationship with these boys, building up a sense of foreboding that something is about to happen to one of them.

Twists and turns abound in a story that, in one part, will rock fans of the series to their very core. No spoilers, but let’s just say that for one of the regular characters, life will never be the same again.

There is still so much more to come from this series, not least Lottie’s reaction to the part of her past that is beginning to merge with the present. Patricia Gibney is a fantastic writer and I can’t wait to see what she has in store next for Lottie.

With thanks to Bookouture and Net Galley for my ARC.

My reviews of the rest of the series can be found here:

The Missing Ones

The Stolen Girls

The Lost Child

No Safe Place