Today, as part of the blog tour for Unconvicted, the new book from Olly Jarvis, I am pleased to be able to share an extract with you.

The Blurb

In a razor-sharp legal thriller, Jack Kowalski must win two challenging trials to save his reputation and his career

Junior barrister Jack Kowalski is crushed. His client Timothy Smart appears to have committed a monstrous crime while on bail – a bail application Jack fought hard to win.

When a high-profile Polish footballer is charged with rape and demands a fellow countryman represent him, Jack must overcome his guilt and get back to work. Before long he takes on a second case, a GBH for instructing solicitor Lara Panassai, who Jack remains desperate to impress. But neither case is what it seems, and Jack will face an extraordinary uphill battle to see that justice is done…

The second Jack Kowalski novel, Unconvicted is a gripping courtroom drama written with the expert insight of a practicing criminal barrister, perfect for fans of William L. Myers, Deborah Hawkins, and Scott Turow.

Chapter 11

PC Adil Khan checked his watch as he drove. It would be another late finish, just so the prickly DS could have a chauffeur from some dinner at the town hall.

‘Slow down a second, Adil,’ asked DS Joan Baker. ‘See that girl there?’

‘Oh yeah, too right!’ he replied. ‘Quite a looker.’

The girl was half-walking and half-running down Deansgate. She wore a skimpy, figure-hugging white dress. No shoes.

‘There’s something not right, Adil. Pull over.’

‘Yeah, hammered probably.’

‘Just pull over, will you?’ she said, with a hint of irritation.

‘All right, all right,’ PC Khan replied.

They pulled up alongside the young woman. At first, she didn’t notice them.

DS Baker called out, ‘Is everything OK, love?’

The girl saw them now. She stopped, then walked straight to the police car, opened the door and got into the back seat. She was shaking. They could see marks, possibly burns on her wrists.

‘It’s all right. You’re safe now. What’s your name, love?’ asked Baker above the crackle coming from their radio.

The girl stared blankly back at her. Her face was a mess, the bruising made worse by the smeared lipstick and smudged eyeliner.

DS Baker turned to her colleague. ‘She’s in shock, poor thing.’ She tried again: ‘We’re going to take you somewhere comfortable, OK, love?’

No reply.

‘What’s your name, sweetheart?’

Eventually, in a whisper: ‘Lauren.’ Her bottom lip began to quiver. ‘I’ve been raped.’

DS Baker sighed. ‘I know, love. I know.’

Hopefully that has whetted your appetite! If so, here’s where you can get your copy:

Amazon (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Author Bio:

Olly Jarvis is a writer and criminal defence barrister, originally from London but now working in Manchester. Drawing on his experiences, he writes both fiction and non-fiction with a particular understanding of the pressures and excitement of life in the courtroom. He wrote the highly acclaimed Radio 4 drama Judgement, and wrote and presented the BBC documentary Mum Knows Best. He is also the author of Death by Dangerous. Olly has two children and lives in Cheshire.

 

Take a look at the rest of the blogs on the tour: