The first month of the year has been and gone and I have already read some of the books on my ‘most anticipated’ list. Thankfully, they all lived up to my expectations!

Books I’ve Read

Don’t Make a Sound by David Jackson

It’s still a while before this one is published and I’m actually quite jealous that some people still have this to look forward to! The Bensons have a daughter, the only problem being she doesn’t actually belong to them and now they’ve decided they’d like another one. This is the third book in the Nathan Cody series – a series that is going from strength to strength.

 

The Blood Card by Elly Griffiths

The third in the Stephens and Mephisto series sees the pairing trying to thwart an attack on the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II. Another great story that transports you back to 1950s England, a time when many changes were about to take place.

 

Dark Game by Rachel Lynch

The first in a new police procedural series set in the picturesque Lake District has everything – human trafficking, prostitution, illegal fighting, gangland crime… I’m looking forward to reading more of Rachel Lynch’s work.

 

The Dark Angel by Elly Griffiths

One of my most anticipated books and it was everything I hoped. Ruth Galloway is in Italy, assisting with the discovery of a skeleton when a murder brings everything firmly into the present day. Ruth has definitely become one of my favourite fictional characters.

 

Best Friends by Carys Jones

Four friends find a suitcase containing £20,000, believing that this unexpected windfall will be the answer to all of their problems. What they don’t realise is that the money belongs to a dangerous gangster and he wants it back… My review will be live on 13th February as part of the Blog Tour.

 

The Lying Kind by Alison James

Detective Rachel Prince has been tasked with a cold case – the disappearance of six-year-old Lola Jade Harper. When the body of a woman is discovered, connections begin to be made between the two cases, leading the detective to realise that this is a much more complex case than she first thought. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and hope that there will be more to follow!

 

Books I’ve Acquired

Deceit, betrayal and tension abound in this chilling police procedural from dazzling new voice Ashley Dyer.

Sergeant Ruth Lake and DCI Greg Carver are on the hunt for a serial killer who carefully poses his victims and covers every inch of their bodies in intricate, cryptic tattoos. Dubbed the ‘Thorn Killer’, by the media, the killer uses a primitive and excruciatingly painful thorn method to etch his victims. After many months, a breakthrough feels imminent. Then the killer gets personal: the latest victim – a student found only a week earlier – is staged to look like Carver’s wife.

Pushed over the edge, Carver spirals into a self-destructive cycle of booze and risky sex. Now he lies near death, and the unreadable Lake stands over him with a gun. Did she shoot her boss? If not, why is she removing evidence from his apartment, faking the scene?

Ruth, too, is convinced that Carver is holding back; that he remembers more than he admits. Why is he lying? Does he know what she did? How can she hope to unravel the half-truths, hidden meanings, secrets and lies at the centre of this investigation when she herself has lied and lied?

Intrigued, the Thorn Killer watches their every move – all the while plotting the next. Can Carver and Lake pull together to catch him before he strikes again? Or will they be held captive by their own web of lies?

Utterly gripping, with a twisting plot that keeps you guessing until the end, SPLINTER IN THE BLOOD is an unforgettable read that will get under your skin.

 

Digging in the garden, builder and current owner, Bill Maynard, discovers some old bones. He worries that the discovery will upset his plans for renovating and selling the house. Fortunately, his neighbour tells him the whole area was a burial site at the time of the Black Death and finding bones is commonplace. “Well, as they’re so old and the museums have enough bones already, I suppose we can ignore them. It’s not like there’s been a murder and we’ve just found the body,” he justified his decision. But had they? His discovery sets off a chain of unfortunate events.

 

 

Mina Scarletti returns in her most thrilling mystery yet! Perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie and Antonia Hodgson…

A family is being torn apart by rumours of a murderer in their midst. Can Mina solve the mystery and lay the ghosts to rest? 

Brighton, 1871

Mina Scarletti is becoming well known for unmasking fraudulent psychics. So it is no surprise to her when a young couple write to her seeking her advice.

George Fernwood and Mary Clifton, betrothed distant cousins, have a family secret that is preventing them from getting married. Twenty years ago, their alcoholic grandfather died in his bed and since then rumours have been circulating that someone in the family murdered him.

Desperate to find out the truth, they have decided to seek out a medium to communicate with their grandfather, and they want Mina to help them find one who is genuine.

Though she is not a believer in ghosts, Mina is intrigued by the family mystery and decides to help them in any way she can.

Could one of the new mediums advertising in Brighton really be genuine? Will they help George and Mary find the answers they are looking for? 

Or will this Unquiet Ghost ruin the chance of happiness for future generations …?

 

Happy reading!