I admit to not really being a big fan of the science fiction and fantasy genres, so gave had to go back to my childhood for my top 5 this week!

C. S. Lewis: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe

An absolute classic – I’m sure I’m not the only person who, as a child, wished that you could access another world via the back of a wardrobe! This is one of those stories that just never grows old.

Enid Blyton: The Magic Faraway Tree series

As a child, I loved Enid Blyton’s mystery stories but The Magic Faraway Tree series was definitely among my favourite books. Who wouldn’t want to visit places like the land of goodies and the land of birthdays and have friends like Moonface and Silky?

C. S. Lewis: The Magician’s Nephew

Although The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe is probably the more well-known of the Chronicles of Narnia, this one was always my favourite. Written as the sixth in the series, it has since been renumbered as the first as it is a prequel to the other books.

Roald Dahl: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

charlie_and_the_chocolate_factoryAlthough this is set in the ‘real world’, it is very much a fantasy story with children turning into giant blueberries and shrinking and getting stuck inside a television! The moral of this story is a simple one – be a good child!

Roald Dahl: George’s Marvellous Medicine

The story of George Kranky and the medicine he made for his not-so-nice grandma has always stuck with me ever since it was read to us at school. I wonder how many children, over the years, have tried to replicate the toxic mixture at home?!

