As the majority of my reading comes from the crime genre, it was inevitable that most of my inspiration for this post would come from there!

Ruth Galloway – Forensic Archaeologist

img_0987Although her main job is that of a university lecturer, Dr. Ruth Galloway has become more well-known for her work in advising the police force in cases involving the discovery of skeletal remains and other buried items. At times, this has been quite a dangerous career move but it’s definitely never boring! I think I’d give the parts where she is pursued by crazed gunmen a miss though!

 

Jefferson Tayte – Genealogist

To some people, spending time in record offices and traipsing around old churchyards might sound like their idea of a nightmare, but for me it’s like a dream come true! As someone who researches their family history, this is a career that I could definitely see myself doing one day! Again, though, preferably without the people trying to kill me to keep secrets hidden!

 

Robert Langdon – Symbologist

infernoWho wouldn’t relish the chance of travelling round Europe, visiting significant museums, galleries and places of worship? Having access to places that the ordinary person would never get to see whilst solving codes in order to protect mankind sounds like my idea of fun!

 

 

Miss Honey – Teacher9780141365466

This would be a busman’s holiday for me but which teacher would not be happy with a class of happy, well-behaved, intelligent children? Of course, having a child like Matilda in your class would be good for the end of day tidying up too!

 

Willy Wonka – Chocolate Factory Owner

charlie_and_the_chocolate_factoryIt’s back to Roald Dahl for my final choice. Inventing new chocolates and sweets and owning the most fantastic chocolate factory in the world is every child’s dream! Pair that with the highly entertaining Oompa Loompas and work would be an enjoyable experience every day!

