51vg2nga1ql-_sx314_bo1204203200_Surgeon Diana Jager has had a troubled past and so when she meets and falls in love with I.T.expert, Peter Elphinstone, she can’t believe her luck. A wedding soon follows but it’s not long before cracks begin to appear in the marriage. When Peter is killed in a car accident, his sister, Lucy, is convinced there is more to it and engages journalist, Jack Parlabane, to investigate Diana’s involvement.

Why have I never discovered this author before?! When I realized that this was the seventh book in the series, I was quite apprehensive as I had not read any of the previous books. From quite early on, however, it became apparent that, although the series is about Jack Parlabane, he would only play a minor role in the book, with the main focus being on what actually happened to Peter Elphinstone. It is not until towards the end of the book that Jack really comes into his own and, although it is clear that he has had problems in his past, a previous knowledge of the character is not essential and, therefore, Black Widow can be read as a standalone.

The story is told, mainly, from the points of view of Jack and Diana and also of the police officers investigating the accident. This is a clever tactic as we get to see the story from all angles and helps to place doubt in your mind as to who is telling the truth. Throughout the book, I didn’t really know how I felt about Diana – was she the arrogant surgeon as perceived by her work colleagues or was she really a lonely, vulnerable woman desperate for a family of her own? By the end of the book, I knew the answer…

I love a book with a good twist and Black Widow certainly ticks all the boxes on that count. Although I had my suspicions about what happened, the truth came as a shock and was one that I did not see coming.

Black Widow is highly recommended and, on its strength, I shall be reading the rest of the series as soon as possible!

With thanks to Little, Brown Book Group UK and NetGalley for the ARC.

