img_0999Single mum Louise is content with her life until she meets David. Young, attractive and interested in her, she can’t believe her luck. Then she meets her new boss and, to her horror, it’s the same man. What makes matters worse, is that she also meets and befriends his wife, Adele. It doesn’t take Louise long to realise that there is something very wrong with their marriage but who is telling the truth? Is David the dangerous control freak he is being made out to be and is Adele as weak and vulnerable as she claims?

There has been a lot of online buzz about this book and so I felt I had to see what all the fuss was about myself. Although the blurb clearly states that there is going to be a killer twist, I was certainly not prepared for what it was! Knowing that there was going to be a twist, I spent most of the book desperately searching for clues to no avail – this is something that cannot be predicted!

It is quite hard to review this book without giving anything away, but I will say that the story is told mainly from the perspectives of Louise and Adele, both in the present and in the past. The characters are well-written and the author does a fantastic job in steering you away from the truth so that when that ending does come it hits you hard!

Behind Her Eyes was not the book I expected, but this is a good thing! It’s not often I am completely wrong-footed by a book so well done Sarah Pinborough! My advice would be to read other reviews of this book sparingly as there are a few spoilers out there…

With thanks to Net Galley and Harper Collins for the ARC.

