When the badly mutilated body of a man is found in a field, former police officer, Alex Quick, is horrified to discover that it is Tristan Huber, a close family friend. After being asked by the dead man’s sister, Dimsie, to conduct her own investigation into the murder, Alex soon realises that Tristan had many secrets and that he was not exactly who he said he was. With people reluctant to share information, will Alex be able to uncover the true facts about his life and death, and is she prepared for what she is about to find out?

This is the second in the ‘Alex Quick’ series and, after reading the first, I was intrigued to find out where the author was going to take the plot. Like the previous book, Quick and the Dead, Susan Moody does not spare us any detail – the descriptions of the mutilated body are very graphic and leave you in no doubt as to the horrific nature of the crime.

I admit to struggling with this book and it took nearly two weeks for me to read it – this is a rare occurence! At several points, I felt as though I could have abandoned it but I persevered and found that, at about three-fifths of the way through, the story picked up and became much more enjoyable. My main concerns with the book were the amount of characters which, at times, became very confusing as I couldn’t remember their role in the plot. I, also, found it difficult to relate to any of the characters – I even found it difficult to like Alex due to her treatment of her friend Sam.

Although the plot is a genuinely interesting one, I felt that it was dragged out slightly due to the quite lengthy descriptions – it could have been concluded much earlier. There are a lot of positives for this book, but after the first instalment, I was hoping for a lot more.

With thanks to Net Galley and Severn House Publishers for the ARC.

