After the break-up of her marriage, detective Alex Quick leaves the police force and forges a career compiling art anthologies. When her business partner, Dr Helena Drummond, disappears and the body of a woman is found in the art historian’s home, Alex is determined to find the missing woman and discover whether she is a victim or the perpetrator of the crime.

From quite early on in the book, it was obvious that this was not going to be a story for the fainthearted. The description of the body was extremely graphic and made me wince slightly. A word used by Alex, later in the book, to describe a part of the dead woman’s body also, seemed to me, to be out of character.

Although the culprit wasn’t too difficult to identify, I did find that there were enough twists in the story to keep me interested. I’m also intrigued as to how the series will continue as this book didn’t pan out exactly as I thought it would!

This book was received from Net Galley and Severn House in return for an honest review.

