After a student is brutally killed in her own bedroom, the police soon make connections to a series of murders that have taken place over a number of years. Who is this killer who can kill with such ferocity whilst other people sleep nearby? It soon transpires that the now discredited Detective Inspector Joe Jackson had a suspect in mind but no arrest was ever made. Did he have the right man?

I have found this book difficult to review as I have mixed feelings about it. At the start, I found it very difficult to follow as I could not understand the connections between the numerous characters. As this book is part of a series, there were references to previous stories but not enough information was given for a first time reader to really comprehend what had happened. I soon found myself skipping sections of text which was not referring to the actual crimes or police investigation.

I am glad I continued with the book, however, as the plot was interesting and I was intrigued to find out if Jackson’s suspect was the correct one. I was slightly disappointed by the ending but, again, feel that if I had understood the characters more, the ending would have been more satisfying.

I received this book from Net Galley in return for an honest review.

