imageI received this book from Net Galley in return for an honest review.

After the body of a teenage girl is found near to her home, it is assumed that a serial rapist who has been terrorising local women has struck again. The case is complicated further when it emerges that the friend of the murdered girl is missing – is she another victim of Birmingham’s most wanted criminal? DI Sarah Quinn finds herself immersed in the murky world of the sex offender but all is not what it seems.

I enjoyed the plot of ‘Next of Kin’ and, without giving too much away, thought that the link between the victims was very clever and plausible. I did, however, find parts of the story hard to read, as the large amount of characters became very confusing. At times, I found myself having to go back to remind myself of where each character fitted in with the story. I also found myself skipping through paragraphs as some appeared unnecessary.

I wonder if had I read any of the previous books in the series (this is the fifth DI Quinn novel), I would have found this one easier to follow. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it – I did – but it was just missing something of the other police procedural books I have recently read.

