I receiveLondon From My Windowsd this book from Net Galley in return for an honest review.

While not being the sort of book I would normally read, as a huge fan of Alfred Hitchcock’s ‘Rear Window,’ I was immediately drawn to the idea of a person watching the world go by from the confinement of her own home. This book turned out to be much more than that.

From the start of the book, the author has you empathising with Ava, the agoraphobic who has been that way since the untimely death of her father when she was a child. We get to understand why she has a strained relationship with her mother and why her home has become her sanctuary.

Although the topic is not a light-hearted one, the author manages to weave humour into the text and the scenario at the airport, in particular, is well-written. The only negative aspect of the book, for me, was the character of Vic. In a book full of likeable characters, this character remained the complete opposite throughout the story, to the point where I couldn’t see a purpose for her character.

All in all, I feel that the author manages to display a positive approach to this ‘hidden illness,’ whilst demonstrating the trials an agoraphobic person faces on a daily basis.

